CSWHT Western Hemispheric Trade Conference

22nd Annual Conference

April 11 - 13 | 2018, Laredo TX.

Texas A&M International University’s (TAMIU) A. R. Sanchez, Jr. School of Business (ARSSB) took pride in hosting its 22nd Annual Western Hemispheric Trade Conference. The Conference was co-sponsored by the Center for the Study of Western Hemispheric Trade (CSWHT) in partnership with the Universidad Autónoma de Tamaulipas (UAT) Facultad de Comercio, Administración y Ciencias Sociales. The Conference was held from April 11 through April 13, 2018 on the campus of TAMIU in Laredo, Texas, USA.

In this Conference, we welcomed three outstanding keynote speakers: Dr. Peter H. Lindert, Distinguished Professor of Economics at the University of California, Davis; Ambassador María del Carmen Domínguez, Chile’s Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations; and Dr. Luis Rubio, Chairman of the Mexican Council on Foreign Relations. The panel presentation, “Inequality in International Trade,” featured Dr. Hans-Michael Trautwein, Professor of International Economics at the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg in Germany, and Dr. Phillip W. Magness, Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics at Berry College in Rome, GA.

A total of 85 papers were presented throughout 28 academic sessions, including special sessions for graduate students.

22nd Conference Hosts

22nd Conference Speakers

Dr. Peter H. Lindert

Dr. Peter H. Lindert
Distinguished Professor of Economics
University of California, Davis

Ambassador María del Carmen Domínguez

Amb. María del Carmen Domínguez
Deputy Permanent Representative of Chile to the United Nations

Hans-Michael Trautwein, Ph.D.

Dr. Hans-Michael Trautwein
Professor of International Economics
Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg, Germany

Dr. George. R. G. Clarke

Dr. George. R. G. Clarke
Distinguished Associate Professor, BBVA Compass Bank Group Chair
Texas A&M International University

Luis Rubio, Ph.D.

Dr. Luis Rubio
Chairman, Mexican Council on Foreign Relations
Mexico City

22nd Conference Sponsors

CSWHT Conference Archive